“Awaken, My Love!” Full Album Review 

I wasn’t going to do a review to this album after first hearing it, but Donald has blessed us with fire music for too long, so I couldn’t refuse. “Awaken, My Love!” is rapper/singer Donald Glover’s  (aka Childish Gambino’s) third studio album.

This particular project has received mixed reviews; some saying it was a masterpiece, and others claiming it wasn’t his best work. I personally had to listen to it a few times through before giving it my completely honest opinion.

The eleven track album starts with the previously released single, “Me and your Mama.” From the start you can see the change in Gambino’s production style, compared to his last studio album, Because of the Internet. The mysterious electronic sound that transforms into a soulful-rock explosion puts the project off to a great start.

There is only one word to describe the remaining tracks on “Awaken, My Love!”

Funkadelic.

From the complex chord progressions, to Glover’s muted and guitar-like vocals, it seemed like none other than the reincarnation of the sounds of Sly and the Family Stone, Rick James, Bootsy Collins, and Marvin GayeI felt like track #6, “Redbone” resembles Bootsy Collins’ record, “I’d rather be with you”; them both having the faint bells in the background, with the overlaying electric guitar. 

Overall, I give the the project a 7/10 , only because I had to give it a few listens before really rocking with it. I hope Donald experiments more with his musical abilties, because he’s proved that he’s more versatile than we believed him to be.

Favorite track- Me and your mama

Track List:
1.Me and your Mama
2.Have Some love
3.Boogieman
4.Zombies
5.Riot
6.Redbone
7.California
8.Terrified
9.Baby Boy
10.The Night Me and your Mama Met
11.Stand Tall

“Awaken, My love!” is available on iTunes, Apple music, Amazon, Google Play, and Spotify.

Leave a Reply

